#1 songs on my birthday, 1984-1993

mariah-carey-whitney-houstonMy friend Dan Van Riper sent me this list of all the #1 songs since August 4, 1958.

I have links only to the middle tune, the song of my birthday. You can go to the website and hear the other contenders. If I’ve heard it before, I won’t play it again. If I’ve never heard of it, I’ll play it once. But I won’t listen to the adjacent tunes. My goal: am I happy with THAT choice to celebrate my birthday? Or (as will be the case in the latter stages of the game), I have no idea?

2/4/84 Culture Club – Karma Chameleon
2/25/84 Van Halen – Jump
3/31/84 Kenny Loggins – Footloose

I own all three of these; this may be the last time that’s true. Footloose is fun, and I like the Boy George song, but this is probably my favorite Van Halen tunes, certainly my favorite of their hits.

2/2/85 Foreigner – I Want To Know What Love Is
2/16/85 Wham! feat. George Michael – Careless Whisper
3/9/85 REO Speedwagon Can’t Fight This Feeling

Odd, but while I’m familiar with the Wham! song, I don’t know that I ever LISTENED to it. Not bad song. Still, I’m a sucker for the choir in the Foreigner anthem.

2/15/86 Whitney Houston – How Will I Know
2/29/86 Mr. Mister -Kyrie
3/15/86 Starship – Sara

Starship bugs me, a Xerox of a Xerox of Jefferson Airplane. I had to play the Mr. Mister tune to say, “Oh, I HAVE heard it.” But I’ll opt for early Whitney.

2/7/87 Madonna – Open Your Heart
2/14/87 Bon Jovi – Livin’ On A Prayer
3/14/87 Huey Lewis & The News – Jacob’s Ladder

I have a News album but this song is not on it. Never really got into Bon Jovi, which seemed like a lesser version of Springsteen mixed with Van Halen. That leaves a Madonna song that I actually own.

2/20/88 Exposé – Seasons Change
2/27/88 George Michael – Father Figure
3/12/88 Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up

Never gravitated to either of the guys’ songs, so I’ll opt for what is only a vague recollection of the Exposé song.

2/11/89 Paula Abdul – Straight Up
3/4/89 Debbie Gibson Lost In Your Eyes
3/25/89 Mike + The Mechanics – The Living Years

I do like the Mike + The Mechanics song. But I remember talking with my friend Fred Hembeck and we agreed that Straight Up, the one Paula Abdul song he ever put on a mixed CD, was probably her only good one. The Debbie Gibson song was rather meh, but I don’t remember it from its heyday.

2/10/90 Paula Abdul & The Wild Pair – Opposites Attract
3/3/90 Janet Jackson -Escapade
3/24/90 Alannah Myles – Black Velvet

Whereas I HATE this Abdul song; the message irritates. Don’t remember the Myles song, so I’m left with not my favorite Janet tune.

2/9/91 C & C Music Factory feat. Freedom Williams – Gonna Make You Sweat
2/23/91 Whitney Houston – All The Man That I Need
3/9/91 Mariah Carey – Someday

I actually have a Mariah Carey best of CD, and I still can’t distinguish all of her songs. I don’t hate the Whitney, as it has interesting note progression on the verse, but I pick “Sweat”.

2/8/92 Right Said Fred – I’m Too Sexy
2/29/92 Mr. Big – To Be With You
3/21/92 Vanessa Williams – Save The Best For Last

The Mr. Big chorus is vaguely familiar. “I’m Too Sexy is too clownish, so I’ll opt for Vanessa, which I own.

11/28/92 Whitney Houston – I Will Always Love You
3/6/93 Peabo Bryson & Regina Bell – A Whole New World
3/13/93 Snow – Informer

Don’t know the Snow song. I DO know the Whitney tune from the movie The Bodyguard (which I never saw), and it may even have been enjoyable the first few times, but heavens, 10 weeks at #1! I AM happy Dolly Parton got a lot of money for the cover. That leaves another song associated with a film, Aladdin. This is not my favorite song, but I always liked the singers’ voices.

Leave a Reply

